Sanath Jayasuriya returns as Sri Lanka chief selector

first_imgFormer Sri Lanka captain Sanath Jayasuriya was on Wednesday reappointed as the country’s chief selector, a little more than a year after he stepped down from the position.The four-member new selection committee will start its operation from May 1 and will serve a two-year term, the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) said in a release today.The other members of the panel are former wicketkeeper-batsman Romesh Kaluwitharana, former off-spinner Ranjith Madurasinghe and former fast bowler Eric Upashantha.Kaluwitharana, who formed the destructive opening partnership with Jayasuriya in the 1996 World Cup victory, was Sri Lanka ‘A’ team coach for a number of years, while Madurasinghe, a Test player in the 80’s, has served before on the panel, and Upashantha was a member of the national team in the late 90’s.The SLC had asked for reinstating Jayasuriya as chief selector for several weeks, but was waiting for the Sports Minister’s approval.The appointments are part of changes after Sri Lanka’s first-round exit at the recently-concluded World Twenty20 in India.Jayasuriya played 586 international matches for Sri Lanka across all formats, scoring 21,032 runs and taking 440 wickets.He was previously appointed chief selector in 2013, but resigned last year following criticism by a new sports minister of the selection process.De Silva had been appointed to the position shortly before the World Twenty20 on a short term basis after the sacking of a selection panel led by former national team seam bowler Kapila Wijegunawardene.Sri Lanka have had to deal with the retirement of batting stalwarts Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene last year. Since then they have slumped to a series of defeats in recent months.advertisementSri Lanka begin a tour of England in May, playing Test, one-day and Twenty20I matches, and also travel to Ireland for two One-day internationals.last_img read more